More...

Volunteers

Twitter

Twitter #RYAyouths

14 Races
 
18 Races
 
14 Races
14 Races
 
14 Races
 
14 Races
 

Protest Outcome (Case 14)

 ProtestorProtesteeTime
R10BURTONRadialGBR136613O'FARRELLRadialGBR17671617/04/2014 17:45:00

Facts Found

6613 and 6716 sailing towards leeward mark on starboard gybe.  At the zone the boats were overlapped with 6716 inside.  As 6613 gybed 1 length from the mark, 6716 made contact with the boom of 6613. There was subsequent hull to hull contact.

Both boats headed up and 6716 hit the mark.  7617 was not present at the hearing.

Conclusion

6613 was the outside overlapped boat at the leeward mark and was required to give mark room under RRS 18.2(b). 6613 did not give mark room to 6716. 6716 hit the mark breaking rule 31, but is exonerated under RRS 64.1(a).

Decision

GBR 136613 is DSQ in race 5

Print

#1020

Social

Hide me
Powered by SailRacer