Search :

More Weather

Twitter - (#470Euros)

Twitter #470Euros


470 European Champions Roll Call


A real mix of top teams have laid claim to the 470 European Championship title over recent years, and with 2013 marking the start of the new Olympic quadrennial we can expect some new and younger faces challenging.

Last year's 470 Men Champions,Sime Fantela/Igor Marenic (CRO), secured their 2012 470 European Championship title yesterday, after winning race 12 which put them in an unassailable position. In the 470 Women, Sophie Weguelin/Sophie Ainsworth (GBR) joined them as 470 Women European Championship winners after a tense Medal Race sail off with four teams gunning for the podium slots.

Year Men Women
 2012 Sime Fantela
Igor Marenic (CRO)
Sophie Weguelin
Sophie Ainsworth (GBR)
 2011 Sime Fantela
Igor Marenic (CRO)*
Tara Pacheco
Berta Betanzos (ESP)
 2010 Panagiotis Mantis
Pavlos Kagialis (GRE)
Emmanuelle Rol
Helene Defrance (FRA)
 2009 Sime Fantela
Igor Marenic (CRO)*
Giulia Conti
Giovanna Micol (ITA)
 2008 Nic Asher
Elliot Willis (GBR)*
Sylvia Vogl
Carolina Flatscher (AUT)
 2007 Alvaro Marinho
Miguel Nunes (POR)
Stefanie Rottweiler
Vivien Kussatz (GER)
 2006 Benjamin Bonnaud
Romain Bonnaud (FRA)
Stefanie Rottweiler
Vivien Kussatz (GER)
 2005 Nick Rogers
Joe Glanfield (GBR)
Ingrid Petitjean
Nadege Douroux (FRA)
 2004 Nicolas Charbonnier
Stephane Christidis (FRA)*
Susanne Ward
Michaela Ward (DEN)
 2003 Philippe Gildas
Nicolas le Berre (FRA)*
Natalia via Dufresne
Sandra Azon (ESP)

Note: In the following years the teams detailed were the open winners, but were not entitled to be awarded the Euroepan Champion title:

2011 - Mat Belcher/Malcolm Page (AUS) 
2009 - Ryunosuke Harada/Yugo Yoshida (JPN)
2008 - Nathan Wilmot/Malcolm Page (AUS)
2005 - Javier Conte/Juan de la Fuente (ARG)
2004 - Nathan Wilmot/Malcolm Page (AUS)
2003 - Paul Foerster/Kevin Burnham (USA)

To view comprehensive 470 results, visit our Results Archive.

Main Image: Sime Fantela/Igor Marenic (CRO) © Marc Turner


30/1/2013 12:07


For all the latest news sign up here with your email address:

470 Vela Viva
  • Institutional Partners

  • Sponsors                     Partners